Artist of the Day: Candy Jernigan

March 7, 2008 at 1:44 am 5 comments

Candy Jernigan 

Whenever I am asked,”Who is your favourite artist?” my mind always goes blank … I never had a single artist who I admired although there are many who have inspire me in the past.  I think that many people go through phases with different likes and dislikes … one day you might like Rauschenberg the next maybe you’d like Mucha.  I’ve come to realize that there is so much out there … so much worth looking at and that different artists and their work do different things for me. 

Which is why I wanted to write about one of the artists who not only inspired but also taught me to look at the world around me in a different way … to find beauty in what others discard and to understand that there is something worth looking at and appreciating in everything and everyone.  Nowadays we have so many things to worry about, so much ‘visual’ pollution to deal with that we often neglect the small things that makes our life function and it is these things that can be the most inspiring ….

1.

Candy Jernigan

2.

Candy Jernigan

3.

               Candy Jernigan

4.

               Candy Jernigan

Candy Jernigan was a New York based artist who was an extremely dedicated collector of unusual evidence.  She collected ring pulls, pieces of half eaten bread and even a rat!  Her work is based on her desire to document her life and to use ‘found’ objects as physical proof of her experiences.  I really admire the way Jernigan has the ability to transform the mundane objects of the world that most people fail to notice into witty and astoundingly resonant works of art …

Sorry I couldn’t find better images but her work is definately worth looking at!  So if you’re interested buy her book here … it’s got awesome imges of her work and it’s even written by Chuck Close!  

 I’m looking forward to my next “Artist of the Day”!  I’ve already got an amazing artist in mind … but I won’t expose it yet 😛

Entry filed under: Artist of the day. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Blog Virgin no More Something that made me smile …

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MB  |  June 22, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    I bought this book ten years ago & treasure it.

    Reply
  • 2. Mystery Package Birthday Contest « HomeWork  |  September 15, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    […] cheddar sauce. When his package arrived yesterday, I was delighted but not surprised by the book. Candy Jernigan is cut from the same cloth as Mark, picking up bits of ephemera from her wanderings to document her […]

    Reply
  • 3. accident employment phone number reporting  |  December 10, 2012 at 7:33 am

    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your
    content seem to be running off the screen
    in Ie. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let
    you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved
    soon. Cheers

    Reply
  • 4. http://tinyurl.com/primperry51562  |  February 7, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Where exactly did u actually get the points to publish ““Artist of the Day: Candy Jernigan Creative Accidents:
    First ponder, then dare”? Thanks a lot ,Rodney

    Reply
  • 5. salads  |  March 27, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    You will need:One cake mix (or your own cake mix from scratch) but I find for these Halloween cupcakes it
    is easier to use a mix and spend the time on the icing and decoration.
    An expert suggestion for you is that you can create a beautiful cupcake tower too.

    Even though the flavors of the first cupcake frostings were limited
    to chocolate and vanilla, these treats continued to become baked
    favorites.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


