SUSHI

June 8, 2008 at 10:15 am 2 comments

(via)

Entry filed under: Food. Tags: , , .

June 08 My Work: Iris Watercolor

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sadao  |  June 11, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Born and raised in Japan, I expect to see the same Nigiri items at any sushi restaurants in Japan. From Maguro, Ika, Ikura to Uni, just about every sushi restaurant serves the same items and people are content with the same old tradition or at least they don’t ask for anything other than what they are used to see. What you enjoy is a subtlety your pallet distinguishs after all. A skillful chef at a established sushi restaurant can provide that.

    Having lived in Portland, Oregon for the last 30 years, I saw how people embrased sushi and raised its status from “raw fish” to “delicacy” over time.
    What I find most amusing is the American ingenuity. My favorite sushi restaurant in Portland serves Nigiri with seared salmon, octopus salad, crab salad, or even a thin slice of roast beef to name a few. I quickly became a big fan of this new invention.
    When I was visiting Tokyo last year, I found myself missing these American sushi.
    People back in Japan don’t know what they are missing.

    Reply
  • 2. Steve  |  June 23, 2008 at 11:32 am

    I love them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


