The Kindness of Strangers

November 1, 2009 at 8:42 pm 1 comment

Hello!

I love sending and receiving mail … so obviously when my boyfriend told me about how he got a letter in the mail from someone who says his wife is turning 80 next month and that he wanted to surprise her by having people from all over the world mail her a birthday card I was SO excited!

The man says that his wife feels as though no one will remember her birthday, because all her friends have died. I think she forgot one really important thing …  that even though her friends have passed away she still has such a thoughtful and lovely man in her life!

Postcard front

Postcard back

Her birthday is on November 23rd so anyone who happens to read this … I hope you help and send this lovely woman a postcard too!

What I like most about this is that it gives me hope that marriages can work, that two people can keep loving each other until they are old and wrinkly.  And if I’m ever married to such a caring, thoughtful man who loves me enough to do something like this for me, I’d be the happiest woman in the world. That way growing old wouldn’t be scary … and instead of dreading each birthday I’d look forward to each and every day that I’m lucky enough to have to spend with him.

Entry filed under: Things that inspire me. Tags: , , , , .

Hello again! Norah Jones: The Fall

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Claudia  |  December 9, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    I am a neighbor of Ingeborg and Richard and I’d like to thank all of you for your kindness and generousity! We received more than 300 letters, even little gifts and many drawings from kids, even flowers via Fleurop. I never had thought that this is possible that people do this for a total stranger. The only sad part of the story is that Richard became very sick and is in a hospital now, he was in an atificial coma and now recovers bit by bit. He probably will be able to get home only after Christmas and because of these circumstances I keep the letters (Inge has only a guessing as she received the flowers and saw some of the letters, but she has no idea at all what Richard exactly had planned for her birthday and how many letters are waiting for her). I wasn’t sure what to do on her birthday and decided to wait until he is at home and they can go through all these lovely letters when he is healthy again. Inge was very concerned and scared and worried on her birthday as he was doing so pretty bad and I thought she would not have the nerve to go through 300 letters that day. Richard is doing better and I guess it will be a joy for them to see the love and care of total strangers and going through each single card and letter.
    Greetings, Claudia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


